Installing CW 5.1.1. on Ubuntu

Hi, I am trying to install CW 5.1.1 on Ubuntu 18.04 LTS. I downloaded and unzipped the CW 5.1.1 source code and ran setup.py. I also installed the drivers. Then, I ran ‘jupyter notebook’ inside the chipwhisperer/jupyter folder. Right on the first tutorial, when I tried to check the version of the arm-none-eabi-gcc, I get an error saying it can’t be found. But when I try it via a terminal, I can get a version.

It seems like jupyter notebook is running in a totally different environment! But I dont recall installing jupyter via conda or pip! Was it part of the zip file? Do I need to install files into some separate envinroment for jupyter to find them? I’m very new to Jupyter so help is much appreciated! thank you!

How did you install the Arm toolchain? Did you follow the note about Ubuntu here?

If you did everything right, what does “which arm-none-eabi-gcc” give you in a terminal?
Then, in any Jupyter notebook, add this cell:

%%bash
echo $PATH

What do you get?

Jean-Pierre

No, I actually used the instructions here. I guess these are old and I should use the link you gave me instead?

which arm-none-eabi-gcc in my terminal gives:
/usr/bin/arm-none-eabi-gcc

%%bash
echo $PATH (in jupyter notebook gives)
/snap/jupyter/6/bin:/snap/jupyter/6/usr/sbin:/snap/jupyter/6/usr/bin:/snap/jupyter/6/sbin:/snap/jupyter/6/bin:/home/karthik/snap/jupyter/common/bin:/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/bin:/usr/games:/usr/local/games

I had another question. Could I run these commands outside the Jupyter notebook? or does it setup a special environment that CW needs to run.

thanks!

To your last question:
No, the commands you find in the tutorial can also be run outside of Jupyter in a Python script. You can convert a Jupyter notebook into a script by running:
$ jupyter nbconvert --to script <notebook.ipynb>

I’m puzzled why you can’t run the ARM compiler in Jupyter since it’s in your $PATH.