jitter/variable delay between trigger and measurements

Hello,

I am quite new to the Chipwhisperer (lite) and I am trying to reproduce the simple serial aes on a new target board namely a MEGA328P based arduino nano board. I had a few problems with using the external serial and configuring the trigger pin (I will come back to that later when I understand better what is going on).

The main problem I am experiencing currently is that my traces are not aligned properly. I created a .
small video showing what I think is a problem

Here is a screenshot (when trancing the trigger pin)

any hints of what is going on? the is time of the tigger also recoded somewhere in the traces? thanks

One workaround, while you don’t fix it and depending on what you are trying to do, woulld be to open the Analyzer and apply the SAD preprocessing filter. After that you may want to save the traces again using one of the result widgets.

Thank you for the answer. The Sum of differences alignment works well on the traces above but it harder on the actual traces I am trying to capture. I hope to find the reason for this misalignment.

Hi there,

I hope you’re enjoying your ChipWhisperer! Thanks a lot for including a video - it’s really helpful.

Are you capturing the trigger signal (instead of a power trace) in this video? One thing I noticed is that your trigger’s rising edge happens around sample -200 - the trigger goes high before the ChipWhisperer is totally ready to capture anything. This means that the capture is basically starting as early as the ChipWhisperer can manage, which isn’t always at the same time, causing a bit of jitter. Try changing your setup so that the microcontroller has a bit of delay before starting the operation and see if this helps.

By the way, we typically trigger on rising edges to avoid these problems - there’s only one rising edge in your trigger signal, but there are many high samples!