Tutorial A5 Breaking AES-256 Bootloader (Adding New Target)

Hi All,

I’m very new to the side channel area and I recently purchased a CW-lite board. I am trying to do the A5 tutorial following the steps provided in (wiki.newae.com/Tutorial_A5_Brea … Bootloader). However the steps using the target and capture code is not very clear. I did save the both the files in the target folder, but running the capture code gives me the following error “no module named CWCaptureGUI”. Could you please provide the steps needed to progress through the tutorial, let me know what stupid mistake I have done.

Also I used the hex file (“bootloader-xmega.hex”) found online to flash the memory. Please let me know if this is correct as well.

Thanks
Hans

Hi Hans,

Hope you’ve enjoyed your CW-Lite so far. Have you tried the other tutorials too?

I can’t reproduce your error on my end. Maybe you have an older version of the software - what version of the ChipWhisperer software are you using? The latest is v3.4.2. If you have Git set up (for example, if you’re using the VM) you can run git pull to update everything.

By the way, I read through the tutorial again; everything makes sense to me, but I’m biased because I wrote it :slight_smile: If you have specific questions, please let me know and I can try to clear things up. One thing that I noticed is that the tutorial firmware ends up in a file like bootloader-aes256-CW303.hex. Are you sure you’re using the right firmware?

Yeah I am very much enjoying it and getting to grips with it.

I have the older version of CW Ver2. I will sort it out now. The files that I have from the bootloader file is from the this location (github.com/newaetech/chipwhispe … der-aes256). I was able to successfully create the hex file for other tutorials such as simple serial exercise, but using the make command in with respect to bootloader gave me an error. So I thought the hex file already present in the file is the one. Please let me know if this is correct?