AES masking on CW - a few questions

Hi,

I was looking through the CW folders, and under \chipwhisperer\hardware\victims\firmware\crypto I came across Higher-Order-Masked-AES-128 and masked-bit-sliced-aes-128. I’m wondering:

1. The masked-bit-sliced-aes-128 folder is empty, are there any plans to add this to regular CW attack tutorials?

2. Based on Higher-Order-Masked-AES-128, how do I need to go about to use this for a CW target attack? (or is it unfinished in the sense that it would require more coding?)

3. This question is more about learning how to incorporate external code into the CW framework in an easy way to evaluate attacks on other algorithms. I found this online for Byte-Masked-AES: https://github.com/Secure-Embedded-Systems/Masked-AES-Implementation/tree/master/Byte-Masked-AES Since I’ve never done this before, I was wondering if someone could guide me as to how to incorporate this code into the already existing CW framework to test it out

Thanks!

Hi,

Those folders are actually submodules. If you run git submodule update --init /path/to/submodule, those folders should get populated.

For just a few files like that, I’d recommend:

1. Make a copy of simpleserial-base
  2. Add the .c. and .h files for the new code to the new simpleserial-base folder
  3. Edit the makefile in the new simpleserial-base folder to add the .c. file to SRC
  4. Use whatever functions you need in simpleserial-base.c

Alex

Hi,