ChipShouter injection tips, specifications needed

Hello,

I’m a graduate student in the Electrical Engineering department at the University of Colorado, Boulder. This summer I am working on a project in which we are trying to understand how faults occur on chips. I’ve been tasked with creating a multiphysics simulation (using COMSOL) of the ChipShouter and I want to make sure that the models of the injection tips are accurate. I’ve read through the manual for the ChipShouter and the picoEMP. There are a few details which I cannot find, and I am not allowed to dissect the tips we have:

1. Is 1mm the actual diameter of the ferrite rod on the 1mm tip?
  2. Which ferrite rod is used? I would like to know the permeability.
  3. What is the length of the ferrite rod?
  4. What gauge of wire is used in the 1mm injection tip that comes with the ChipShouter?
  5. How many turns of wire are used on the 1mm injection tip?
  6. Has anyone connected the 1mm injection tip to an LCR meter and if so, what was the measured inductance and DC resistance?

This is sure to be an interesting project!

Thanks in advance for any help.

Hello,

Sorry on the lag here. Hopefully the following diagram answers the questions w.r.t. winding:

The core itself is Fair-Rite 3078990831

I haven’t done the LCR test, will check if we can measure accurately enough to be usable. I have a low-cost VNA that could generate that or S11 parameters too (not sure they will be that accurate, but give you an idea).

Thanks,

-Colin

Thanks for the specs! For the 1mm probe, we were able to measure an inductance of 423nH +/- 20nH. We built a model of the probe in COMSOL using the provided dimensions, and the simulated inductance (426nH) is in close agreement with the inductance of the simulated coil. That’s all good news.