CPA - Leakage Models

Hi! I’m new to this, so please excuse my naiveté :slight_smile:

I’m looking into performing a CPA attack on a device that only transmits data. I’m completely unable to control the plaintext. The data encrypted however (using AES128 in ECB) includes a 4 byte serial number + 3 byte counter + 9 hard coded bytes. So only 3 bytes will ever change.

I’m assuming that this will allow me to only recover 3 bytes of the key (at least with the default leakage model), matching the offset of the counter bytes? Is that assumption correct? Are there any other leakage models that would allow more than these three bytes to be recovered?

Hi,
I think you’re confusing the ciphertext with the encryption key. A CPA attack on AES recovers the encryption key. Byte X of the AES plaintext is processed by all bytes of the encryption key, and affects all bytes of the ciphertext.

If you’re totally new to AES, I recommend some background reading; our courses are a good starting point. There are lots more resources online; the wikipedia AES page is pretty good; Serious Cryptography is a very good and approachable whirlwind tour of modern cryptography.

Back to your question-- different attacks have different requirements; some require knowledge of the plaintext (or ciphertext), others require control of the plaintext. Going through our courses will give you a better handle on this.

Jean-Pierre

I am trying to recover the key. I’ve done the 2 SCA courses. My issue is only 3 bytes in the plaintext on the device I’m researching ever change, so I’d only have hamming weight swings on those 3 bytes. Looks like CPA (and DPA) in this case won’t work to recover the entire key.