Help Please

Hello, I’m new at this and ran into a problem. I followed the basic guide (newae.com/sidechannel/cwdocs … comms.html). Manage to get everything working till the point of “Communicating from CW-Capture Software”, after clicking on the master connect and then clicking on the 1 button, the debug log would show

WARNING: response to short (len=0) 

Went a bit further and change the setup to trigger pin IO4, clock source Target IO-IN, then I move onto the ADC Clock and when I select the clock source to be EXTCLK x4 via DCM, I get another warning in the debug log.

WARNING:response to short (len=0): For address 0x06=6 Sent Data: e4010002 Read Data: e4010002

Hi David,

What hardware platform are you using? Will help me narrow down things further.

Thanks!

-Colin

The ChipWhisperer Capture Rev2 with the multitarget victim board, and the atmega328p mcu

Hi David,

Sorry on the delay - long weekend has slowed things down here. Anyway, does the programming work ok? The error about the “response too short” is often when the AVR isn’t responding to serial commands… which can also be an issue with fuses programmed incorrectly, or jumpers on the device are set incorrectly.

Does the “ADC Frequency” match the expected 29.4 MHz (i.e. 7.37 MHz x 4)? If you can send screen-shots of your settings it might help too, as can see if anything jumpers out at me either.

Thanks!

-Colin

Hey Colin,

Sorry for late reply, there was a death in the family and only returned back to work today. Using the avr programmer, I’m able to successfully flash to the mcu, I get no errors or warnings. Below are the screenshots.

Sorry to hear about the circumstances, my condolences to you! I’m at the CHES + SEC-T conference so will be a little slower in responding as well.

Did the AVR work with the AES example? I’m wondering if the fuses were programmed incorrectly… the jumpers all look OK there that I can see.

Hi Colin,