Issue: Noise as output

Dear Members,
All of sudden, I am getting noise as output when I am recording traces using ChipWishper Rev2 board. We have tried with different targets (XMEGA 12804). But we still receiving noise as output. Here, you can see a snapshot. I am quite new to Embedded hardware, and don’t have sufficient knowledge on hardware boards. Kindly, please help me.

Hi Satya,

Please check that:

1. The DCM for the ADC is locked. This should be under the ADC settings under Scope Settings.
  2. You have an SMA cable connecting the ChipWhisperer board to the CW308 target board.

If you’re still running into issues, can you please send me your scope settings? Running print scope in the Python console should be sufficient.

Alex

Thank you Alex for your prompt reply. I see that DCM in ADC is disabled for me. I am using SMA cable actually. Please check the scope settings,

Thanks in advance for your help. Please guide me in this regard.

Hi Satya,

There should be a Reset ADC DCM button under ADC Settings in Scope Settings. Try hitting that a few times, as the DCM may not lock after settings a new clock frequency. I don’t think there’s anything else wrong with your settings.

Let me know if you still have issues,

Alex

Hi Alex,
Thanks for your suggestions. I have tried the options you mentioned. However, I don’t see any luck yet. Could you please suggest me any other alternatives?

Thanks in advance,

Best regards
Satya

Hi Satya,

A few questions:

• What target board are you using? Are you using the multi-target board?
  • What connections do you have between the target board and the CW Rev 2? Specifically, where are the SMA connectors you’re using connected? Is VOUT on the target connected to the Channel A LNA on the target?

I’m guessing your CW Rev 2 isn’t receiving any signal at all, so that probably points to a connection issue between the Rev 2 board and the target.

Alex

Hi Alex,