Measuring Power Traces on ISCAS 85 Benchmark

I am new to Chip Whisperer. I am wondering how to start a project that will measure power traces on a simple combinational circuit such as ISCAS85 c17. My first objective is to configure the target board to contain the logic of this benchmark. Thanks

Yup, it should be possible if I understand your situation correctly (combinational circuit running in an FPGA). Basically, you’ll need to route a trigger pin out of the FPGA that the chipwhisperer can use to start the capture. If you’re not using a ChipWhisperer target board, you’ll also need to make some hardware modifications to enable the ChipWhisperer to measure power consumption.

It’s important to understand that the ChipWhisperer will only be useful for measuring AC power consumption and not for measuring the base power consumption of your circuit.

Alex

Thank you, that makes sense. I found some tutorials on how to capture power consumption, but how would I configure the FPGA to hold a specific combinational circuit?

I have a ChipWhisperer-Lite (2-Part Version) with an XMEGA target

Oh, if you only have a Lite/Xmega, you won’t be able to load stuff you want to measure the power consumption of onto the FPGA. You need a separate FPGA target (like the S6LX9 target or the CW305).

How would I be able to do this with a CW308? Thank you.

As mentioned above, you need the S6LX9 target board. We provide some verilog source for implementing serial communication and a Xilinx ISE project: https://github.com/newaetech/chipwhisperer/tree/develop/hardware/victims/cw308_ufo_target/spartan6lx9

It wouldn’t be possible to do this on STM32F right? Thanks Alex.

I think some microcontrollers include modules for glue logic, but I’m not sure that would even be discernible on a power trace (though I’m not sure it’ll be visible on an FPGA either)