Question about TVLA for multiply operations

Hi, I am trying to test the feasibility of using shuffling against SCA. But for multiply operations not AES S-box lookup. I load the key and text the same and its still in a loop, but just the operation is a multiply instead of the lookup.

I modified the code in ‘simpleserial-base’ and the ‘CW-analyzer for CPA attacks’ notebook and I’m seeing promising results there. If I randomly shuffle the order of operations, CPA is unable to guess the key. That is, instead of always using plaintexts A,B,C,D in that order, I randomly shuffle this to be say D,B,C,A or B,A,D,C etc each time.

I saw the TVLA notebook and wanted to give that a try to see if I could ‘quantify’ my approach. But when I tried the same technique of shuffling, the traces still crosses 4.5. In fact, the plot for the original and shuffled approaches are nearly identical. Unfortunately, I’m very new to SCA and don’t know much about TVLA (apart from what I read online) so does this mean shuffling the order of operations doesn’t work? For TVLA, I only shuffled the ‘random’ plaintexts and kept the fixed plaintexts as they were.

Any help/clarification would be much appreciated! Thank you!

Hi Karthik,

TVLA works by identifying statistically significant differences between two groups of traces: one group where all inputs are kept constant for each trace, and another group where usually one of the inputs is varied while the others are kept constant.

It is therefore a mechanism to determine whether the operand which was chosen to vary contributes statistical differences to the power signature; differences which may be leveraged to mount a side-channel power attack.

If I understand your description of your multiplier, then I fully expect that the TVLA test would fail: changing the order of the operands does not untie the contribution of the value of an operand from the power consumption.