SCA101 (HARDWARE) course captures don't make sense with CW1173

Hello,

I have a CWLITE with XMEGA target, I was able to complete all the setting up hardware tutorials and simple serial setup courses.

However, I have some questions regarding the first power analysis jupyter notebook course: SCA101.

TLDR: I run the captures, and graph the results, and I see this:

Doing 20 additions:

Doing a for loop with 20 iterations:

I am new to Power Analysis, so I don’t know if these readings make sense. However, what I see is that they are very different, compared to the samples included in the no-hardware versions of the course, which look like this when I graph them:
imagen

I am using the code included in the notebooks.

My questions:

• Are the two first traces looking normal? Am I capturing power signals correctly?

• What should the “IDLE” time of the CPU that the notebook mention look like? (See figure one, where the notebook says: “You shouldn’t see much happening here before the target starts idling”)

• Why are my traces not visibly similar to the example ones?

• What is the unit of the Y axis? Current?

Thank you

No, I’d say your ChipWhisperer isn’t hooked up correctly. Are you using a CWLite + CW308? If so, did you connect the measure port to J17 on the CW308?

The Y axis is a value proportional to current.

Alex

1 Like

I am using a ChipWhisperer-Lite Classic 8-bit ATXMEGA128D4 target (which according to the box is the cw1173). This one is directly connected to the target board and can program it (i.e.: I don’t have any SMA, my target is NOT the CW308, it’s the board that is on the same board as the CW itself, separated by a section that can be broken up to separate the two boards).

I’ve tested with the multimeter and the measure / glitch lines from the target board to the main board seem to be connected correctly.

imagen