SPI communication with periferal device

Hello,

I am new with this type of device, so I am sorry at advance if it is described somewhere else. My problem is as follows. I have ChipWhisperer-Lite Capture, CW308 board and custom SPI periphery device.

I would like to ask if it is possible to use 20 pin connector to communicate with custom peripheral through SPI interface. In documentation of CW-lite there is description of SPI interface and communication but I am not convicted, if it is possible to use for sending commands.

Thank you

Hi,

You can use the SPI object in chipwhisperer/software/chipwhisperer/hardawre/naeusb/spi.py to send SPI data over the 20-pin connector.

Alex

1 Like

Hi,
Is there any example to learn how to use spi.py to send/read SPI data over the 20-pin connector?
I also want to know about the usage of the commands.
self.sendCtrl(self.CMD_SPI, self.SPI_CMD_DATA, data)
Does it mean that will send both SPI_CMD_DATA = 0xA4 and data to the hardware which connects to the 20-pin connector? Otherwise, how the receiver know that should read or write and the length of data?
Thank you!

ZT

I think all we spi.py for currently is programming our iCE40 FPGA target.
You can see example code for writing/reading over the SPI interface here:

Hi,
In SPI, both master and slave need to use the same clock polarity and clock phase. In the examples, I have no way of knowing the clock polarity and clock phase settings for the LatticeICE40. I check the user guide of LatticeICE40, it seems the clock polarity and clock phase depend on register values (but did not find register default value). How do I know what type of settings chipwhisperer uses?
Also, I would like to know what is the frequency range of SCK pin? I find that it seems a variable in the example.

Does it meens the range is 1E6~20E6?
Thank you for your reply!

ZT